Photo Acknowledgement: John Welch

Winners of Past Awards

ANZSPED Emerging Investigators Awards

This award is presented at the annual scientific meeting of ANZSPED to the best scientific presentation by an ANZSPED member who are within 5 years of completing their FRACP (or equivalent).

The award is made on the advice of a committee, which consists of at least 5 people appointed by ANZSPED Council. Candidates are assessed according to their project’s scientific merit and originality, the clarity of their presentation and their response to questions from the audience.

Past Emerging Investigator Award Recipients


Conference location


2023 Mornington Peninsula Karissa Ludwig
2022 Christchurch Mercedes Burnside
2021 Online Lara Graves
2020 Online Tenele Smith
2019 Adelaide Yassmin Musthaffa
2018 Newcastle Kriti Joshi
2017 Hobart Jessica Harbison & Marie-Anne Burckhardt
2016 Alice Springs Quynh-Nhu Nguyen
2015 Brisbane Stephanie Johnson
2014 Darwin Benjamin Albert & Vinutha Shetty
2013 Sydney Carmel Smart
2012 Queenstown Jacqueline Hewitt
2011 Perth Natasha Heather
2010 Adelaide Paul Benitez-Aguirre
2009 Coolum Shihab Hameed
2008 Canberra Peter Simm
2007 Broome Michelle O’Connell and Rochelle Ryan
2006 Hobart Ann Maguire
2005 Lyon
2004 Auckland Louise Conwell
2003 Melbourne Elaine Tham
2002 Darwin / Kakadu Kristen Neville
2001 Southport Craig Munns
2000 Sydney Craig Jefferies
1999 Coolum Esko Wiltshire
1998 Perth Michelle Jack
1997 Bondi Maria Craig
1996 Glenelg Christine Burren


ANZSPED Medal Winners

Robert Vines Medal for Clinical Excellence
in Paediatric Endocrinology
Norman Wettenhall Medal for
Research and Innovation
ANZSPED Medal for Excellence in
Nursing Allied Health or Laboratory Science
2006     Mike Thomsett 2007    Garry Warne
2008     Martin Silink 2009    George Werther
2010     Jenny Couper 2011     Tim Jones
2012     Neville Howard 2013     Wayne Cutfield
2014     Chris Cowell 2015     Kim Donaghue
2016      Margaret Zacharin 2017     Paul Hofman
2018      Patricia Crock 2019    Maria Craig
2020     Non awarded due to no ASM 2021    Non Awarded due to no in person ASM 2022   Bin Moore
2023     Jan Fairchild


Endocrine Nursing Development Grant Winners

2021 Katherine Prior, John Hunter Children’s Hospital, NSW
2020 No grant awarded
2019 Julia McCombe, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Vic
2018 Jennifer la Cour, Queensland Children’s Hospital, Qld
2017 No grant awarded
2016 No grant awarded
2015 Shannon Reakes, The Canberra Hospital, ACT
2014 Alison Gwiazdzinski, Women and Children’s Hospital, SA
2013 Irene Mitchellhill, Sydney Children’s Hospital, NSW
2012 Karen Shah, Royal Children’s Hospital, QLD
2011 Bin Moore, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead, NSW